The Essential Wardrobe Every 20-Something Should Own

Invest in these 10 universal items and always look schnazzy

Dakota Morlan
6 min readJul 15, 2022
Photo by Raspopova Marina on Unsplash

Lord knows I’ve spent too much on clothes. It’s funny to think back on the world 15 years ago and how we used to shop. Rolling up to Forever 21 with Mom, bopping around to the latest tunes, wading through racks and mounds of wrinkled garments, unperturbed by the aroma of plastic, caustic perfume and body odor; then gazing up at the impossibly thin mannequins contorted into uncanny poses by underpaid teens and stuffed into cheap, trendy ensembles–clothing I could easily afford–and declaring, “Wow, that is SO cute. We need to find that!”

For most of my life, shopping has been a pastime. It’s something we do for fun, to experience that rush of dopamine when we see something we like, we buy it, and we wear it for the first time. I can’t tell you how much I’ve spent over the years on “the fix,” but I don’t own a single Forever 21 item today. That means every dollar I spent at that store was thrown in the trash along with the garment, when it inevitably fell out of fashion or fell apart due to its poor quality.

However, as I emerge into my frugal late twenties, there are a few clothing items that I’ve deemed essential–go-to pieces I’ve worn over and over and still hold up. These are items that I can dress up or…

--

--

Dakota Morlan

News editor and independent journalist from the land of bullfrogs, cattle and cannabis. To read more, visit dakotamorlan.com and subscribe. @DakotaNMorlan