Making the Jump: How to Start Over in Life

Dakota Morlan
6 min readFeb 2, 2023

Changing your life requires sacrificing that which stands in your way.

Photo by Joseph Frank on Unsplash

I don’t know about you, but I spend a lot of time thinking about how much time I have left and whether I’m spending it wisely. I’m only 28, but I’m the oldest I’ve ever been and entering that precarious season of life where one either digs in their heels, buys property, and starts a family; or they reassess and start over. I’m choosing to do the latter.

What does it mean to start over, anyway? It could be a change in career or moving to a new city. You don’t need to have all the answers about where you’re going and how, but you should know why you’re doing it and what it is you seek. For me, it’s about improving myself and accepting the unknown. My whole life, I’ve clung to the illusion of control. I’ve always needed a grasp on what’s next and what the future holds — not just tomorrow but in 10, 20, 30 years. I don’t think this mentality has served me well, as the only peace I find in my daily life is in moments that I struggle to catch as my mind spins wildly with regret, worry and external distractions. For me, starting over is a spiritual practice, a minimalist exercise in which I am whittling my life down to its most essential parts. It is also a battle with fear, which I hope to embrace rather than flee from.

--

--

Dakota Morlan

News editor and independent journalist from the land of bullfrogs, cattle and cannabis. To read more, visit dakotamorlan.com and subscribe. @DakotaNMorlan